top of page

Carrot Cake Quinoa Porridge

Getting sick of your same old bland porridge day in and day out? I've got you sorted with this yummy take on traditional oats. This recipe is naturally gluten free and packed with protein, making it a great option for a morning fuel. Plus it's super easy!

For this recipe I used red quinoa, but any quinoa will do. I had red in the cupboard so that's why I went with red. White will cream up a lot more than the red so to make it more of a porridge consistency I would choose white.

I also used pre-cooked quinoa but I will give you the cooking times for uncooked quiona below also. Either way it doesn't make much difference taste wise, it is more about time.

If quinoa isn't your thing you can easily substitute the quinoa for your normal rolled oats.

Ingredients:

1 cup of cooked quinoa or 2/3 cup of uncooked quinoa.

1 carrot grated

1 Apple grated (granny smith for a sweeter taste)

1/2 cup of walnuts (or any nuts you fancy)

1 cup of almond milk

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of coconut sugar

Method:

Combine all ingredients into a saucepan, cook on medium heat until milk starts to bubble.

If using uncooked quinoa cook for 10 minutes, or until quinoa has 'popped' string continuously to avoid the milk burning.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
bottom of page