top of page

Raw Almond Butter Bullets

Raw desserts. My absolute favourite. I have always been allergic to dairy so that means that virtually my entire life desserts have been a no go. And thats fine, I have never had them so I have never missed them.

A couple of years ago I discovered the raw dessert craze and I was stoked. These are (for the most part) desserts that I can actually have, with the added bonus of them not being entirely terrible for you from a nutrition point of view.

And while I love them, I haven't had much of chance to get into the kitchen to make any this year. This week I put in into my diary, I was going to treat myself (and the household) to some raw desserts.

On the menu: Raw Almond Butter Bullets

So I have never actually tried a real lollie bullet but I understand that the centre is filled with raspberry or a another colour of some description. I am obsessing over almond butter currently so out with the raspberry and in with the almond butter. But thats not sweet I hear you say? Well neither are the nuts in Snickers but I hardly hear people complaining about them.

I was making this recipe up entirely as I went along so apologies if some of the quantities are a little bit out.

Tip: when you combine the maple syrup with the cacao powder and coconut oil mine had a strange chemical reaction and set, a couple of seconds in the microwave fixed that but just so you are aware if you use maple syrup.

You will need:

6 medjool dates, pitted

3 tbsp cacao powder

1/2 cup of coconut oil

3 tbs almond meal

Organic Maple syrup to taste

Almond butter

  1. Soak the dates in boiling water for 20min, remove the water once 20 min is up.

  2. In food processor combine dates, cacao powder and 2 tbsp coconut oil, 3 tbsp almond meal

  3. Once all is combined roll into balls and hollow out the middle. Leave a little bit of this mixture as this will be the lid. Mixtures should make 8 balls

  4. Freeze for 1 hour. then remove and fill with almond butter, cover with a ‘lid’ of the leftover date, cacao, coconut oil and almond meal mixture.

  5. Freeze for another 30 min.

  6. While they are freezing combine the rest of the coconut oil with 1 tbs of cacao powder and enough maple syrup until you get your desired sweetness.

  7. After 30min dip the balls in the chocolate and place back in the freezer for 4 hours or over night. Store refrigerated.

  8. Try not to eat them all at once (this is the hardest step)

Substitutions:

Almond butter

You can swap for any kind of nut butter, or completely disregard all together. Tahini would also work well :)

Maple syrup

You can swap this for any other sweetener. rice malt syrup, agave, coconut nectar etc. I used maple because thats what I had in the cupboard. Ps. there is a big difference between real maple syrup and maple flavoured syrup so if you have the maple flavoured syrup please don't use that, it is ridiculously high in sugar with no nutritional benefit. True maple syrup has vitamins and minerals as it is a direct product of the male tree.

Almond meal

Linseed meal would also work well, as well as providing you with omega 3 and fibre.

Happy ‘Baking’!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
bottom of page